10 Amazing YA Books by Fascinating Latina Writers

  13 Reasons Why meets the poetry of Emily Dickinson in this gripping debut novel perfect for fans of Sara Zarr or Jennifer Brown. A Goth girl with an attitude problem, Elizabeth Davis must learn to control her anger before it destroys her. Emily Delgado appears to be a smart, sweet girl, with a normal […]

Chasing Ella by Jillian Quinn

    Amazon     Every Princess needs a Prince Charming… When a masked girl throws herself at Shawn Finch at a costume party, the hotshot football player assumes she’s just another girl trying to get his attention. Except she’s not just any girl. She’s his Cinderella, the nameless girl in the pale blue dress […]

BAN THIS BOOK by Alan Gratz

I have never loved a heroine so much in all my life!! For all the believers, the dreamers, and those who continue to fight the good fight against censorship, ignorance and protect our freedom to read this book is for us all!!!  Favorite Banned Book – Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret by Judy Blume […]

The First Rule of Punk by: Celia C. Pérez,

  From debut author and longtime zine-maker Celia C. Pérez, The First Rule of Punk is a wry and heartfelt exploration of friendship, finding your place, and learning to rock out like no one’s watching. There are no shortcuts to surviving your first day at a new school—you can’t fix it with duct tape like you would […]

What to Say Next by Julie Buxbaum

“When an unlikely friendship is sparked between relatively popular Kit Lowell and socially isolated David Drucker, everyone is surprised, most of all Kit and David.” (Blurb) This book really hits various tough topics, such as bullying, disabilities and depression, yet the writer manages to tackle them with grace. A diverse book about a beautiful friendship […]

In the Shadow of the Sun by Anne Sibley O’Brien

“North Korea is known as the most repressive country on Earth, with a dictatorial leader, a starving population, and harsh punishment for rebellion.” (Blurb) In the Shadow of the Sun is a riveting story, complete with an action packed plot. This intriguing adventure of bravery takes the reader into the complicated country of North Korea […]

The Lines We Cross by Randa Abdel-Fattah.

“A remarkable story about the power of choosing tolerance from one of the most important voices in contemporary Muslim literature, critically acclaimed author Randa Abdel-Fattah.” (Blurb) This book is very relevant in the world we live in today as it explores immigration. We meet a boy and girl on the opposite sides of political lines, […]

Mrs. Smith’s Spy School for Girls by Beth McMuller

“A girl discovers her boarding school is actually an elite spy-training program, and she must learn the skills of the trade in order to find her mother in this action-packed middle grade debut.” (Blurb) This is definitely the summer of female heroes thanks to Wonder Woman. Mrs. Smith’s Spy School for Girls is a little […]

Princess Inc. by Mari Mancusi

“Twelve-year-old Hailey and her friends form a unique babysitter’s club in order to raise money to see their favorite YouTube star at a local ComicCon in this hilarious M!X novel.” (Blurb) I will start by saying I love Mari Mancusi’s books! The woman can write any genre and does it all so very well! Princesses […]

Refugee by Alan Gratz

“Three kids go on journeys in search of refuge. All will face unimaginable dangers — from drownings to bombings to betrayals. But there is always the hope of tomorrow. And although Josef, Isabel, and Mahmoud are separated by continents and decades, their stories will tie together in the end.” (Blurb) This book was brilliant. Refugee […]