Crown of Thunder by Tochi Onyebuchi

Tochi Onyebuchi holds a BA from Yale, an MFA in screenwriting from Tisch, a master’s degree in global economic law from L’institut d’études politiques, and a JD from Columbia Law School. His writing has appeared in Asimov’s Science Fiction and Ideomancer, among other places. Tochi resides in Connecticut, where he works in the tech industry.  

HAVE YOU HEARD ABOUT LADY BIRD? POEMS ABOUT OUR FIRST LADIES by: Marilyn Singer, Nancy Carpenter (Illustrations)

    Marilyn Singer was born in the Bronx (New York City) on October 3, 1948 and lived most of her early life in N. Massapequa (Long Island), NY. She attended Queens College, City University of New York, and for her junior year, Reading University, England. She holds a B.A. in English from Queens and […]

Marcus Vega Doesn’t Speak Spanish by Pablo Cartaya

This is a story about a boy who does not quite fit in but who was obviously born to stand out. Marcus is an 8th grader who towers over his peers and uses his height and bulk to provide protection for kids who are bullied. Marcus reminds me a lot of my own son who […]

GIRLS WHO CODE: SPOTLIGHT ON CODING CLUB by: Michelle Schusterman

Girls Who Code books are some of the best STEM fiction books out today. We follow a group of girl coders who are not only best friends but are each others greatest cheerleaders. In the stories they always face a real life dilemma, and work though it in true friendship fashion. Spotlight On Coding Club […]

Henry and the Yeti by Russell Ayto

This energetic, laugh-out-loud picture book about one boy’s quest to find a yeti is perfect for fans of Uni the Unicorn and Dear Yeti. Henry loves yetis. Yes, yetis. The problem is nobody knows if yetis actually exist. Henry, however, is sure they do, and he sets off on an expedition to find one. He […]

Dreaming Dangerous by Lauren DeStefano

THE FALL OF INNOCENCE by Jenny Torres Sanchez

  Jenny Torres Sanchez (www.jennytorressanchez.com) is a full-time writer and former English teacher. She was born in Brooklyn, New York, but has lived on the border of two worlds her whole life. She is the author of Because of the Sun; Death, Dickinson, and the Demented Life of Frenchie Garcia; and The Downside of Being […]

Catherine by Sue Barr

Spies, espionage, and a handsome rake? SIGN ME UP!!! Catherine was such a refreshing read! I am in love!!!  I am a sucker for all things Austen so I am always eager to read adaptions of any kind! I feel Kitty is often the forgotten sister, the one we never know much about, I always […]

Monday’s Not Coming by Tiffany D. Jackson

Monday Charles is missing, and only Claudia seems to notice. Claudia and Monday have always been inseparable—more sisters than friends. So when Monday doesn’t turn up for the first day of school, Claudia’s worried. When she doesn’t show for the second day, or second week, Claudia knows that something is wrong. Monday wouldn’t just leave […]

From Twinkle, With Love by Sandhya Menon

Three starred reviews for this charming romantic comedy about an aspiring teen filmmaker who finds her voice and falls in love, from the New York Times bestselling author of When Dimple Met Rishi. Aspiring filmmaker and wallflower Twinkle Mehra has stories she wants to tell and universes she wants to explore, if only the world would listen. So […]