MAGIC TREE HOUSE DELUXE HOLIDAY EDITION: CHRISTMAS IN CAMELOT by: Mary Pope Osborne Illustated by: Antonio Javier Caparo

Are you ready for the Book Gifting Season!!  Here is a wonderful book to add to your child’ library this Christmas Season!!!    Random House Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books, will be rereleasing CHRISTMAS IN CAMELOT from the #1 bestselling Magic Tree House series in a new deluxe holiday […]

The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton & Throw by Ruben Degollado

Banned Books Week and Hispanic Heritage Month fall at the same time. All week I am going to be spotlighting a Classic Banned Book and a book by a Hispanic Author that I think you will love if you loved the banned book. A Margie’s Must Reads version of “If you like this, then you […]

Superman:Dawnbreaker by Matt de la Pena

The fourth installment of the DC Icon series is finally here! “Superman: Dawnbreaker” is the book I have been waiting for. De la Peña takes a beloved character, creates a Smallville, very similar to towns in America, weaves an immigration subplot into a superhero mystery that is sure to capture the hearts of old and […]

Song for a Whale by Lynne Kelly

“Song for a Whale” is a gem of a book; a story about a young deaf girl who often feels isolated and alone because of her deafness. Iris is a bit of a tech genius and is often sought after to fix everything for everyone but is often made to feel as if she is […]

Marcus Vega Doesn’t Speak Spanish by Pablo Cartaya

This is a story about a boy who does not quite fit in but who was obviously born to stand out. Marcus is an 8th grader who towers over his peers and uses his height and bulk to provide protection for kids who are bullied. Marcus reminds me a lot of my own son who […]

Henry and the Yeti by Russell Ayto

This energetic, laugh-out-loud picture book about one boy’s quest to find a yeti is perfect for fans of Uni the Unicorn and Dear Yeti. Henry loves yetis. Yes, yetis. The problem is nobody knows if yetis actually exist. Henry, however, is sure they do, and he sets off on an expedition to find one. He […]

Betty Before X by Ilyasah Shabazz and Renée Watson

A powerful middle-grade novel about the childhood activism of Betty Shabazz, Malcolm X’s wife, written by their daughter. In Detroit, 1945, eleven-year-old Betty’s house doesn’t quite feel like home. She believes her mother loves her, but she can’t shake the feeling that her mother doesn’t want her. Church helps those worries fade, if only for […]

Amal Unbound by Aisha Saeed

“Books were what made my days bearable. They were what helped me sleep at night without my homesickness choking me.” When Amal’s ordinary life in her quiet Pakistani village is disrupted and she is forced to stay home from school to help her mother take of her siblings, Amal holds on to the hope that […]

Me, Frida and the Secret Peacock by Angela Cervantes

“Whether she liked it or not, Paloma Marquez was in Mexico City for a whole month.” In this enchanting middle grade mystery, we follow 12-year-old Paloma Marquez and her professor mother to Mexico City as she is involved in a research fellowship for the summer. Paloma is a vibrant, smart, fun character who at first […]

Girls Who Code by: Sarah Hutt & Illustrated: Brenna Vaughan

Girls Who Code #3: Lights, Music, Code   Perfect for fans of The Babysitters Club and anyone interested in computer science, this series is published in partnership with the organization Girls Who Code! Maya and her friends from coding club have an exciting new project: they’re coding lights and music for the winter dance! But […]