Marcus Vega Doesn’t Speak Spanish by Pablo Cartaya

This is a story about a boy who does not quite fit in but who was obviously born to stand out. Marcus is an 8th grader who towers over his peers and uses his height and bulk to provide protection for kids who are bullied. Marcus reminds me a lot of my own son who […]

Henry and the Yeti by Russell Ayto

This energetic, laugh-out-loud picture book about one boy’s quest to find a yeti is perfect for fans of Uni the Unicorn and Dear Yeti. Henry loves yetis. Yes, yetis. The problem is nobody knows if yetis actually exist. Henry, however, is sure they do, and he sets off on an expedition to find one. He […]

Betty Before X by Ilyasah Shabazz and Renée Watson

A powerful middle-grade novel about the childhood activism of Betty Shabazz, Malcolm X’s wife, written by their daughter. In Detroit, 1945, eleven-year-old Betty’s house doesn’t quite feel like home. She believes her mother loves her, but she can’t shake the feeling that her mother doesn’t want her. Church helps those worries fade, if only for […]

Amal Unbound by Aisha Saeed

“Books were what made my days bearable. They were what helped me sleep at night without my homesickness choking me.” When Amal’s ordinary life in her quiet Pakistani village is disrupted and she is forced to stay home from school to help her mother take of her siblings, Amal holds on to the hope that […]

Me, Frida and the Secret Peacock by Angela Cervantes

“Whether she liked it or not, Paloma Marquez was in Mexico City for a whole month.” In this enchanting middle grade mystery, we follow 12-year-old Paloma Marquez and her professor mother to Mexico City as she is involved in a research fellowship for the summer. Paloma is a vibrant, smart, fun character who at first […]

Girls Who Code by: Sarah Hutt & Illustrated: Brenna Vaughan

Girls Who Code #3: Lights, Music, Code   Perfect for fans of The Babysitters Club and anyone interested in computer science, this series is published in partnership with the organization Girls Who Code! Maya and her friends from coding club have an exciting new project: they’re coding lights and music for the winter dance! But […]

How to Tame a Human Tornado by Paul Tobin

The adventures continue for sixth-grade genius inventor Nate Bannister and his best friend Delphine in the third book of The Genius Factor series. It’s Friday the 13th again, and Nate hasn’t just done one really outrageous thing. He hasn’t even done THREE crazy things like normal. No, this time he’s gone and hidden his science […]

Storng Inside by Andrew Maraniss

Inspirational and Important. Strong Inside is one of those stories that will make you angry, make you laugh and make you want to continue to fight for equal rights for all people. 

Lola Dutch by Kenneth and Sarah Jane Wright

I don’t have a daughter, but if I did, I would want her to exactly like Lola Dutch! I love her!! This has to be one of the cutest books I have ever read! Not only are the illustrations charming and the message delightful, the cover turns into a dollhouse play sheet! Complete with a […]

Ellie, Engineer by Jackson Pearce

The hilarious and smart start of a series about a girl who loves to build—STEM-powered, creative fun for girls. Ellie is an engineer. With a tool belt strapped over her favorite skirt (who says you can’t wear a dress and have two kinds of screwdrivers handy, just in case?), she invents and builds amazing creations […]