HAPPY BOOK BIRTHDAY LIVING BEYOND BORDERS!

Today is the official Book Birthday of LIVING BEYOND BORDERS: GROWING UP MEXICAN IN AMERICA!! I am so thrilled to finally have this collection in the world!! I am so proud of all the work the contributors of this book gave of themselves, it was a true work of heart.  My hope in curating this […]

Kisses and Croissants by Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau

I take a deep breath. Audrey is basically perfect … almost too perfect. I’ve seen her dance dozens of times, and sometimes it feels like I’m watching a battery-powered ballerina. I try to ignore our classmates as I say, “Audrey doesn’t know how to have fun with it.”   Audrey’s mouth drops open, but our instructor nods approvingly, so I continue. “Ballet is […]

A Pho Love Story by: Loan Le

  I LOVED Pho Love Story! It was so fabulous! I love YA romance and I love books centered around food, so when I saw this one I knew I wanted to read it! I have made a little list of book recommendations here based on this book. If you loved Pho Love Story, you […]

Living Beyond Borders: Growing Up Mexican in America COVER & EXCERPT!

For years I have been a book blogger, posting, loving, promoting all the books I love. It is a little surreal to post and blog about MY OWN BOOK!!! But I wanted to capture this moment on my blog and post the cover for the AUGUST 17, 2021 Release of our YA Anthology called, Living […]

Running by Natalia Sylvester

When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president, Mari starts to see him with new eyes. A novel about waking up and standing up, and what happens when you stop seeing your dad as your hero—while the whole country is watching. In this thoughtful, authentic, humorous, and gorgeously written novel about privacy, waking […]

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez

A ripped-from-the-headlines novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border. Pulga, Chico, and Pequeña have no false illusions about the town they’ve grown up in and the dangers that surround them. Though their families–both biological and found–create a warm community for them, threats lurk around every corner. And when those threats become all […]

How to Be a Pirate by Isaac Fitzgerald

CeCe dreams of being a pirate. When the neighborhood boys tell her that she can’t, she wonders where to begin. Luckily, she suspects her grandpa must know something about being a pirate–why else would he have all those tattoos? As he shares each tattoo, Grandpa and CeCe are transported from adventure to adventure, and CeCe […]

Happy YA Books to Read Right Now!

I LIVE, LAUGH, LOVE HAPPY! I need HAPPY! I love happy books and I think the world needs to read more HAPPY BOOKS right now and always!! These past couple of weeks have been pretty crazy and I find that happy books help to ease my brain. Here is a list of a few of […]

All-American Muslim Girl by: Nadine Jolie Courtney

Nadine Jolie Courtney’s All-American Muslim Girl is a relevant, relatable story of being caught between two worlds, and the struggles and hard-won joys of finding your place. Allie Abraham has it all going for her—she’s a straight-A student, with good friends and a close-knit family, and she’s dating popular, sweet Wells Henderson. One problem: Wells’s father is […]

The Revolution of Birdie Randolph by Brandy Colbert

Perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Nicola Yoon comes a novel about first love and family secrets from Stonewall Book Award winner Brandy Colbert. Dove “Birdie” Randolph works hard to be the perfect daughter and follow the path her parents have laid out for her: She quit playing her beloved soccer, she keeps her […]

%d bloggers like this: