The Revolution of Birdie Randolph by Brandy Colbert

Perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Nicola Yoon comes a novel about first love and family secrets from Stonewall Book Award winner Brandy Colbert. Dove “Birdie” Randolph works hard to be the perfect daughter and follow the path her parents have laid out for her: She quit playing her beloved soccer, she keeps her […]

When the Stars Lead to You by Ronni Davis

Eighteen-year-old Devon longs for two things. The stars. And the boy she fell in love with last summer. When Ashton breaks Devon’s heart at the end of the most romantic and magical summer ever, she thinks her heart will never heal again. But over the course of the following year, Devon finds herself slowly putting […]

The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton & Throw by Ruben Degollado

Banned Books Week and Hispanic Heritage Month fall at the same time. All week I am going to be spotlighting a Classic Banned Book and a book by a Hispanic Author that I think you will love if you loved the banned book. A Margie’s Must Reads version of “If you like this, then you […]

SLAY by Brittney Morris

Superman:Dawnbreaker by Matt de la Pena

The fourth installment of the DC Icon series is finally here! “Superman: Dawnbreaker” is the book I have been waiting for. De la Peña takes a beloved character, creates a Smallville, very similar to towns in America, weaves an immigration subplot into a superhero mystery that is sure to capture the hearts of old and […]

When the Sky Fell on Splendor by Emily Henry

Oh it was lovely!! So very lovely! Very different from her other books but just as remarkable!

The Beauty of the Moment by Tanaz Bhathena

One of my favorite books of the year so far is The Beauty of the Moment, this book has everything I love all packed up into 320 pages. A love story for the ages, a coming of age story for our time, this book a timely story. Malcolm and Susan are not two kids who […]

Let’s Go Swimming on Doomsday by Natalie C. Anderson

Abdi is forced to become a child soldier to save the lives of those he loves. It is a harsh reality, books like this are not easy to read, but I feel they are important for young people to see the lives, the desperation, and the atrocities that take place all over the world that […]

The Hunting: Doll 3 By Miracle Austin

I am not a big horror fan, I will be the first to admit I am a big SCAREDY CAT!!  I jump at the things that go bump in the night, so when I met Miracle Austin and fell in love with her as a person, I decided that I would give her books a […]

Throw by Rubén Degollado

Sometimes you read a story that resonates in you so powerfully, it feels as if it is part of your soul, Throw was that kind of story for me. I am a sucker for coming of age stories, The Outsiders was my favorite book growing and to this day still holds a special place in […]