Superman:Dawnbreaker by Matt de la Pena

The fourth installment of the DC Icon series is finally here! “Superman: Dawnbreaker” is the book I have been waiting for. De la Peña takes a beloved character, creates a Smallville, very similar to towns in America, weaves an immigration subplot into a superhero mystery that is sure to capture the hearts of old and […]

Lizzy Legend by Matthew Ross Smith

This is a fun story about a girl growing up in an impoverished neighborhood with a dream to play basketball. She wishes to be part of the boy’s team but is not allowed. Until one day she is granted a wish, one that she is able to make every basket she ever attempts and this […]

The Red Ribbon by: Lucy Adlington

Rose, Ella, Marta and Carla. In another life we might have all been friends together. But this was Birchwood.  As fourteen-year-old Ella begins her first day at work she steps into a world of silks, seams, scissors, pins, hems and trimmings. She is a dressmaker, but this is no ordinary sewing workshop. Hers are no […]

Teen Trailblazers by Jennifer Calvert & Vesna Asanovic

True stories of young women who made a big difference! From authors to activists, painters to politicians, inventors to icons, these inspiring teenagers are proof that girls can change the world. Joan of Arc. Anne Frank. Cleopatra. Pocahontas. Mary Shelley. Many of these heroines are well-known. But have you heard of Sybil Ludington, a 16-year-old […]

Marcus Vega Doesn’t Speak Spanish by Pablo Cartaya

This is a story about a boy who does not quite fit in but who was obviously born to stand out. Marcus is an 8th grader who towers over his peers and uses his height and bulk to provide protection for kids who are bullied. Marcus reminds me a lot of my own son who […]

Ellie, Engineer by Jackson Pearce

The hilarious and smart start of a series about a girl who loves to build—STEM-powered, creative fun for girls. Ellie is an engineer. With a tool belt strapped over her favorite skirt (who says you can’t wear a dress and have two kinds of screwdrivers handy, just in case?), she invents and builds amazing creations […]

Christmas In Cooperstown by David A. Kelly

MERRY CHRISTMAS! Mike and Kate get the BEST Christmas present ever–a mystery at the Baseball Hall of Fame! After volunteering to wrap presents for charity, Mike and Kate get a special thank-you: a sleepover at the Baseball Hall of Fame! But when they’re sneaking around the museum late at night, their flashlight reveals that one […]

The Girl Who Saved Christmas by Matt Haig

COUNTDOWN TO CHRISTMAS! From the bestselling author of A Boy Called Christmas comes a hilarious and heartwarming holiday tale for fans of Roald Dahl and Charles Dickens’s A Christmas Carol that imagines the story of the first child to ever receive a Christmas present. “Matt Haig has an empathy for the human condition, the light […]

Mrs. Smith’s Spy School for Girls by Beth McMuller

“A girl discovers her boarding school is actually an elite spy-training program, and she must learn the skills of the trade in order to find her mother in this action-packed middle grade debut.” (Blurb) This is definitely the summer of female heroes thanks to Wonder Woman. Mrs. Smith’s Spy School for Girls is a little […]

Princess Inc. by Mari Mancusi

“Twelve-year-old Hailey and her friends form a unique babysitter’s club in order to raise money to see their favorite YouTube star at a local ComicCon in this hilarious M!X novel.” (Blurb) I will start by saying I love Mari Mancusi’s books! The woman can write any genre and does it all so very well! Princesses […]