Slayer by Kristen White

Being chosen is easy. Making choices will break your heart. Hold on to your stakes Buffy fans, there is a new slayer in town! Building on the fandom and world of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Kristen White delivers on the humor, the action, and the bad-assery of Buffy. The world building was excellent. This book […]

Playing for Keeps by Jill Shalvis

“Sadie.” She shook her head. “Look at me. Please?” It was the damn please that had her opening her eyes. He’d closed the gap so that if she so much as took a breath, they’d be touching. So she did just that. She took a deep breath, and then their bodies were up against each […]

The Red Ribbon by: Lucy Adlington

Rose, Ella, Marta and Carla. In another life we might have all been friends together. But this was Birchwood.  As fourteen-year-old Ella begins her first day at work she steps into a world of silks, seams, scissors, pins, hems and trimmings. She is a dressmaker, but this is no ordinary sewing workshop. Hers are no […]

The Kennedy Debutante by Kerri Maher

A captivating novel following the exploits of Kathleen “Kick” Kennedy, the forgotten and rebellious daughter of one of America’s greatest political dynasties. London, 1938. The effervescent “It girl” of London society since her father was named the ambassador, Kathleen “Kick” Kennedy moves in rarified circles, rubbing satin-covered elbows with some of the 20th century’s most […]

Crown of Thunder by Tochi Onyebuchi

Tochi Onyebuchi holds a BA from Yale, an MFA in screenwriting from Tisch, a master’s degree in global economic law from L’institut d’études politiques, and a JD from Columbia Law School. His writing has appeared in Asimov’s Science Fiction and Ideomancer, among other places. Tochi resides in Connecticut, where he works in the tech industry.  

HAVE YOU HEARD ABOUT LADY BIRD? POEMS ABOUT OUR FIRST LADIES by: Marilyn Singer, Nancy Carpenter (Illustrations)

    Marilyn Singer was born in the Bronx (New York City) on October 3, 1948 and lived most of her early life in N. Massapequa (Long Island), NY. She attended Queens College, City University of New York, and for her junior year, Reading University, England. She holds a B.A. in English from Queens and […]

Marcus Vega Doesn’t Speak Spanish by Pablo Cartaya

This is a story about a boy who does not quite fit in but who was obviously born to stand out. Marcus is an 8th grader who towers over his peers and uses his height and bulk to provide protection for kids who are bullied. Marcus reminds me a lot of my own son who […]

GIRLS WHO CODE: SPOTLIGHT ON CODING CLUB by: Michelle Schusterman

Girls Who Code books are some of the best STEM fiction books out today. We follow a group of girl coders who are not only best friends but are each others greatest cheerleaders. In the stories they always face a real life dilemma, and work though it in true friendship fashion. Spotlight On Coding Club […]

Henry and the Yeti by Russell Ayto

This energetic, laugh-out-loud picture book about one boy’s quest to find a yeti is perfect for fans of Uni the Unicorn and Dear Yeti. Henry loves yetis. Yes, yetis. The problem is nobody knows if yetis actually exist. Henry, however, is sure they do, and he sets off on an expedition to find one. He […]

Dreaming Dangerous by Lauren DeStefano