Slayer by Kristen White

Being chosen is easy. Making choices will break your heart. Hold on to your stakes Buffy fans, there is a new slayer in town! Building on the fandom and world of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Kristen White delivers on the humor, the action, and the bad-assery of Buffy. The world building was excellent. This book […]

Teen Trailblazers by Jennifer Calvert & Vesna Asanovic

True stories of young women who made a big difference! From authors to activists, painters to politicians, inventors to icons, these inspiring teenagers are proof that girls can change the world. Joan of Arc. Anne Frank. Cleopatra. Pocahontas. Mary Shelley. Many of these heroines are well-known. But have you heard of Sybil Ludington, a 16-year-old […]

HAVE YOU HEARD ABOUT LADY BIRD? POEMS ABOUT OUR FIRST LADIES by: Marilyn Singer, Nancy Carpenter (Illustrations)

    Marilyn Singer was born in the Bronx (New York City) on October 3, 1948 and lived most of her early life in N. Massapequa (Long Island), NY. She attended Queens College, City University of New York, and for her junior year, Reading University, England. She holds a B.A. in English from Queens and […]

Marcus Vega Doesn’t Speak Spanish by Pablo Cartaya

This is a story about a boy who does not quite fit in but who was obviously born to stand out. Marcus is an 8th grader who towers over his peers and uses his height and bulk to provide protection for kids who are bullied. Marcus reminds me a lot of my own son who […]

Henry and the Yeti by Russell Ayto

This energetic, laugh-out-loud picture book about one boy’s quest to find a yeti is perfect for fans of Uni the Unicorn and Dear Yeti. Henry loves yetis. Yes, yetis. The problem is nobody knows if yetis actually exist. Henry, however, is sure they do, and he sets off on an expedition to find one. He […]

Rad Girls Can: Stories of Bold, Brave, and Brilliant Young Women by: Kate Schatz

You might know the stories of Malala Yousafzai, Anne Frank, Jazz Jennings, and Joan of Arc. But have you heard about Yusra Mardini, a Syrian refugee who swam a sinking boat to shore, saved twenty lives, then went on to compete as an Olympic swimmer? Or Trisha Prabhu, who invented an anti-cyberbullying app at age […]

Stella Diaz Has Something to Say by Angela Dominguez

Stella Diaz Has Something to Say was an absolute joy to read! This book deals with so many relevant topics that plague our country today. Immigration, language barriers and bullying in schools are issues so many of our children face daily, characters such as Stella can help children see they are not alone. Diverse books are so essential in schools […]

Ellie, Engineer by Jackson Pearce

The hilarious and smart start of a series about a girl who loves to build—STEM-powered, creative fun for girls. Ellie is an engineer. With a tool belt strapped over her favorite skirt (who says you can’t wear a dress and have two kinds of screwdrivers handy, just in case?), she invents and builds amazing creations […]

LOVE by Matt de la Peña Illustrated by Loren Long

  My Two Sons. THIS IS LOVE!   Matt de la Peña is the author of Last Stop on Market Street, which won the Newbery Medal and was chosen for a Caldecott Honor. He is also the author the award-winning picture book A Nation’s Hope: The Story of Boxing Legend Joe Louis and six critically acclaimed young adult […]

Christmas In Cooperstown by David A. Kelly

MERRY CHRISTMAS! Mike and Kate get the BEST Christmas present ever–a mystery at the Baseball Hall of Fame! After volunteering to wrap presents for charity, Mike and Kate get a special thank-you: a sleepover at the Baseball Hall of Fame! But when they’re sneaking around the museum late at night, their flashlight reveals that one […]