Kisses and Croissants by Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau

Kisses and Croissants by Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau

Kisses and Croissants by Anne-Sophie JouhanneauKisses and Croissants by Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau

As sweet as a macaron from Laduree, with writing as crisp as a freshly baked baguette, this romantic novel set in Paris about an American ballerina and a charming French boy is parfait for fans of American Royals and Netflix’s To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.

Seventeen-year-old Mia, an American girl at an elite summer ballet program, has six weeks to achieve her dreams: to snag an audition with one of the world’s best ballet companies. But there’s more to Paris than ballet—especially when a charming French boy, Louis, wants to be her tour guide—and the pair discover the city has a few mysteries up its sleeve.

In the vein of romances like Love and Gelato, this is the perfect summer adventure for anyone looking to get swept away in the City of Love.

I take a deep breath. Audrey is basically perfect … almost too perfect. I’ve seen her dance dozens of times, and sometimes it feels like I’m watching a battery-powered ballerina. I try to ignore our classmates as I say, “Audrey doesn’t know how to have fun with it.”  

Audrey’s mouth drops open, but our instructor nods approvingly, so I continue. “Ballet is not a science, it’s an art. You have to make people feel something, and you can only do that if you feel it yourself.” The moment I stop talking, she jumps in. “Maybe I don’t have enough emotion, but Mia has too much. Way too much.” I let out a quiet gasp. It’s not an unfair comment, and that’s probably why it hurts. “All right,” Monsieur Dabrowski says to her. “Continue.”  

“She needs to work on her precision,” Audrey adds with a smile, like the dutiful student she is. “She can’t expect that the steps will just unfold on their own. Mia needs to learn complete control over her body. Over everything.” “Très bien, girls. I’ve seen everything I need to see. “Audrey and I both perk up, along with every other student in the room. He doesn’t say anything else. Still, we know he’s talking about the roles in Swan Lake. He’s been quiet on the topic all week, and no one has dared ask any questions about how and when, exactly, he will assign them. Audrey hesitates for a moment before blurting out, “When will we find out the roles?” 

“Good things come to those who wait,” he finally says before moving onto the next group. We’ll have to hope, pray, and dream for a few more days at least. For now, Audrey and I stare at each other coldly. She’s wrong about me, anyway. I am in control, but that doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy it, too.  

It’s a waste of Paris not to drink in the spirit of this place, its history, the art, the culture, the boys. Well, fine, not the boys. Ugh, maybe I have been distracted by my emotions. Paris is not about dreamy French guys and impromptu trips on the backs of their Vespas. Paris is not about Louis’s gorgeous brown eyes, the dimple in his left cheek that made me want to rub my hand against his soft skin, or the sweet, musky scent that wafted back to me as I held him in my arms. Now I just wish our ride around the city had lasted all night, because it can’t happen again. 

So, fine. Paris is not about falling in love, not for me. It’s about dancing. The whole reason I came here is to learn from the best and to one day get into the American Ballet Theatre. Maybe even one day very soon, as long as I don’t forget why I came here in the first place. 

 

Excerpted with permission fromKisses and Croissants by Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau, Copyright Delacorte Press, 2021. 

 

 

Praise for KISSES AND CROISSANTS

A Junior Library Guild selection

“A charming story about family, first love, and chasing your dreams. Grab a croissant, because this book will leave you smiling, swooning, and desperate to visit Paris!” —Katharine McGee, New York Times bestselling author of American Royals

“Sweet and romantic! I couldn’t put it down.” —San Francisco Book Review, five stars

“Paris simply shines; readers’ senses will come alive with all the city has to offer.” —SLJ

You can purchase Kisses and Croissants at the following Retailers:
       
Photo Content from Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau

Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau is a bilingual French author of young adult fiction and nonfiction. Her books have been translated into seven languages. Kisses and Croissants (Delacorte Press, 2021) is her U.S. debut. After graduating university in France, she moved to Amsterdam to begin a career in advertising. She then spent a few years in Melbourne before settling in New York City, where she lives with her Australian husband and their American cat.

 
        
PART ONE
MARCH 29th MONDAY JeanBookNerd INTERVIEW
MARCH 29th MONDAY We Live and Breath Books REVIEW
MARCH 30th TUESDAY Underneath the Covers EXCERPT
MARCH 30th TUESDAY Discover Elysian REVIEW
MARCH 30th TUESDAY Margie’s Must Reads EXCERPT
MARCH 30th TUESDAY Ruei’s Reading Corner REVIEW
MARCH 31st WEDNESDAY A Dream Within A Dream EXCERPT
MARCH 31st WEDNESDAY A Court of Coffee and Books REVIEW
MARCH 31st WEDNESDAY Kait Plus Books EXCERPT
PART TWO
APRIL 1st THURSDAY Sophie Reads YA REVIEW
APRIL 1st THURSDAY Whatever You Can Still Betray EXCERPT
APRIL 1st THURSDAY Kalisbookishrambles REVIEW
APRIL 1st THURSDAY Pages and Pugs REVIEW
APRIL 1st THURSDAY BookHounds YA REVIEW & INTERVIEW 
APRIL 2nd FRIDAY Emelie’s Books REVIEW
APRIL 2nd FRIDAY Shelf Love REVIEW & INTERVIEW 
APRIL 2nd FRIDAY Gwendalyn’s Books REVIEW
APRIL 2nd FRIDAY Twirling Book Princess EXCERPT
 
*JBN is not responsible for Lost or Damaged Books in your Nerdy Mail Box*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Speak Your Mind

*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: